Skip to main content
Reinstalling a server completely erases all disks on it and creates a fresh install of the OS of your choice. This process is irreversible, so please use caution.
To reinstall a server, go to the server page, click on the Actions button and select Reinstall. You will be presented with the available options to reinstall the device. Reinstall server options Alongside the operating system, SSH keys, and user data, you can adjust the disk layout when your server and operating system support it. Enable Custom disk layout to change how disks are grouped, formatted, and mounted. See custom disk layout for details. Reinstalling is also how you bond an existing server onto a public network, or remove an existing bond — toggle Bond to a public network in the reinstall options. Bonding or unbonding replaces the server’s public IP. See Network bonding. When submitting a reinstall request, the system formats the disks and installs the selected operating system. You can follow the reinstall progress of your server.